General Election 2017

As you were for Sinn Fein in West Tyrone


The existing trio of Sinn Fein MLAs in West Tyrone have been returned to Stormont.

Barry McElduff, Michaela Boyle and Deckan McAleer have taken the last three seats in the constituency.

It was very close in the end as Grace McDermott almost pipped McAleer to that last seat, losing out by only 10 votes.


That ends the count in West Tyrone with Daniel McCrossan (SDLP), Tom Buchanan (DUP), Ross Hussey (UUP), Bary McElduff (SF), Michaela Boyle (SF) and Decland McAleer (SF).

The totals for each of the successful candidates are: Michaela Boyle (4958), Tom Buchanan (4650), Declan McAleer (4009), Ross Hussey (7932) Daniel McCrossan (4287) and Barry McElduff (5252).

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


The Strabane Chronicle is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 4 Castle Street, Strabane, Co. Tyrone, Northern Ireland, BT82 8AB