Castlederg High School pupils looking forward to ‘next chapter

Karen Lilly, careers and form teacher, Castlederg High School, with higher achievers at A level.

Karen Lilly, careers and form teacher, Castlederg High School, with higher achievers at A level.

AFTER achieving great results at Castlederg High School, A Level pupils are now looking forward to the next chapter in their education. A delighted Elaine McKelvey, principal of Castlederg High School, noted that success for many pupils opened the doors to further education.

Among those who will be heading to university from the school are Alex Hallam and Gareth Nethery who will continue their studies at Stranmillis College studying a BEd in Primary Education, Chloe Scott secured a place at Ulster University studying Sport and Exercise Science, Jade Smith will continue to study Art and Design and Darren Coulter will follow a Professional Cookery course, while Olivia Keatley will begin her new course at Loughry studying a BSc Hons in Food Business Management and Jill Robinson will continue her studies at Ulster University studying a BSc Hons in Information Technologies.


In STEM subjects Steven Sproule will progress to Ulster University to study Civil Engineering and James Wilson will also attend Jordanstown to study Mechanical Engineering. With a vast array of career choices and those accepted onto university and college courses, Mrs McKelvey congratulated the students.

She said, “The school is delighted with the great success of its pupils across the range of subjects whether academic or vocational A levels, or BTEC courses. These achievements now enable the pupils to progress further towards their chosen career by securing places in either Higher or Further Education.

Top performers at A Level were Olivia Keatley A*AA, Chloe Scott A*A*A, Mark Buchanan A*AB, Gareth Nethery A*AB, Steven Sproule A*AB, Chanelle Darragh A*BB, Alex Hallam A*AC, Jill Robinson AAC, Jade Smith ABB and Tamara Vaughan A*BB.

Excellent grades were also achieved by Thomas Baxter, Darren Coulter, Gillian Crompton, Jordan Dennison, Gareth Mills, Bryce Mortland, Zara Pinkerton, Glenn Quinn, Matthew Sproule, Shannon Watson and James Wilson.


CHS ad


Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


The Strabane Chronicle is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 4 Castle Street, Strabane, Co. Tyrone, Northern Ireland, BT82 8AB